The History of WSOP

What is The World Series of Poker, and how did it all start?

The World Series of Poker began as an invitation-only tournament in 1970. Legendary Las Vegas casino owner Benny Binion brought a handful of the best poker players in the world to his famous Horseshoe Casino to determine who was the number one player on the planet.

Although the first tournament was decided by a vote, beginning with the second contest in 1971, the champion has been determined by a winner-take-all no-limit hold ‘em tournament. Past winners include legends like Johnny Moss, “Amarillo Slim” Preston, and “Amarillo Slim” Preston.

The WSOP began with only 6 players in 1970, but by the mid 80’s, it saw upwards of 2,000 entrants. The series reached over 8,000 players in 2006 with the winner of the “Main Event” no-limit hold ‘em tournament taking home over $12,000,000. The winner also takes home the coveted WSOP Champion bracelet.

Will you be the next World Series of Poker winner?

@OfficialBicycleCards on Instagram